Cure Auto Insurance for College Students
About CURE Auto Insurance
CURE Auto Insurance provides coverage for drivers in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Michigan and does not require a credit score to obtain a policy, basing their prices mainly on driving history instead. Students residing in these three states who have a good driving record and either poor or no credit may find this an appealing option for their auto insurance. CURE also does not consider a person’s level of education in determining policy prices, which is another reason students may prefer to use this provider.
Policy options with CURE range from the most basic coverage, based on state law minimum requirements, to more comprehensive coverage with additional protection based on your needs as a driver. This flexibility in plans can help students tailor their coverage and find the right policy for the right price.
*It’s important to note that none of the CURE’s most basic policies include what’s considered “full coverage,” meaning they do not include collision or comprehensive coverage which pays for damage to your own vehicle. These are considered extra protection and can be added for an additional cost which may considerably increase your monthly rate. This type of full coverage is typically important unless you own an older car.
Minimum Coverage Options
Every state requires a minimum amount of property damage liability and in most cases, bodily injury liability as well. New Jersey also requires uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance whereas Pennsylvania and Michigan do not. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is not required in every state but can be added for additional medical expense coverage. You can save money by choosing to use your own health insurance benefits in case of an injury. Below is a brief explanation of each of these coverages:
- Bodily injury liability pays for injuries and lawsuits that are a result of an accident you caused
- Property damage liability pays for vehicle and/or property damage that is a result of an accident you cause
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pays for your injuries and property damage if the other driver caused the accident and is not insured or has less coverage than what your underinsured premium
- Personal injury protection (PIP, or “no-fault” coverage) pays for injuries and other expenses that may result from injuries, no matter who caused the accident
CURE’s Standard Vs. Basic Policy
For drivers in New Jersey, CURE offers two different types of coverage – a standard policy, which offers varying levels of coverage as well as the ability to buy additional types of protection, and a basic policy, which provides more limited benefits than the standard policy but costs less. Most New Jersey drivers choose the standard policy as it can be tailored to fit individual needs and offers more protection, whereas the basic policy only meets the minimum insurance requirements of state law. The basic policy includes the following coverage:
- $5,000 property damage coverage
- Option to choose $10,000 bodily injury liability limit (not required)
- Medical expense benefit with a $500 deductible
- Uninsured motorist coverage ($5,000 for property damage and up to $30,000 bodily injury coverage)
For drivers in Pennsylvania and Michigan, quotes begin with a basic policy based on minimum state law requirements and protection can be added based on needs as you go through the process.
The basic policy in Pennsylvania includes the following coverage:
- $5,000 property damage coverage
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage (limit of $15,000 per person)
- $5,000 per person/accident medical expense benefit
The basic policy in Michigan includes the following coverage:
- $10,000 property damage coverage
- $100,000 bodily injury coverage (limit of $50,000 per person)
- Mandatory property protection insurance for property damage, $1,000,000 limit
- Personal injury protection of $250,000 per person/per accident
Sample Quotes for CURE Auto Insurance
Here are some sample rates for CURE’s most basic policies in each state for a general idea of pricing.
Sample Quote 1: New Jersey Student
A student living in New Brunswick, NJ can expect to pay about $650.00 for 6 months of coverage, or about $108.33 per month for a basic policy and no additional protection. Adding the lowest limit of $10,000 for bodily injury liability increases the total 6-month cost to $807.00, or roughly $134.50 per month.
Sample Quote 2: Pennsylvania Student
A student living in Pittsburgh, PA can expect to pay about $409.00 for 6 months of coverage, or about $68.20 per month.
Sample Quote 3: Michigan Student
A student living in East Lansing, MI can expect to pay about $496.75 for 6 months of coverage, which equals about $82.20 per month.
Your specific location plays a factor in total cost, and policy prices can vary greatly depending on where you reside in each state. For example, a sample quote for a student living in Philadelphia, PA generated a monthly cost of about $201.20 (or about $1,207 for 6 months of coverage) whereas our sample quote above for a student living in Pittsburgh came out to around $68.20 per month. Again, these quotes are based on basic policy coverage, and additional protection will also increase these monthly costs (sometimes quite significantly).
Extras with CURE Auto Insurance
Below are the types of extra protection that you can add to your policy based on your individual needs:
- Collision coverage – pays for damage that you have caused to your vehicle
- Comprehensive coverage (“Other than Collision”) – pays for damage to your vehicle that is not covered under collision coverage, and if your vehicle is stolen
- Rental reimbursement coverage – assists with rental car costs while your car is repaired
- Right to sue – (unlimited or limited) covers your right to sue the person who caused the car accident for your injuries. A Limited Right to Sue means you agree to only sue the responsible party if you sustain a more serious injury with permanent damages
- Extra PIP options – these include income continuation, essential services (like coverage for house and yardwork), a death benefit, and a funeral expense benefit.
These additions are not always required by law, but it’s a good idea to evaluate your situation and add as much protection as you think necessary based on your circumstances. Most drivers want some sort of collision and comprehensive coverage, especially if they have a newer car. Knowing about the types of coverage and what protection you need will help save you time in comparing rates across different providers.
CURE Auto Insurance Policy Breakdown
As mentioned previously, if you choose CURE’s most basic policies without any additional protection, you are responsible for covering any damage to your vehicle. CURE provides very low quotes based on the minimum car insurance limits in each state, which means you are covered solely for damages to the other party’s vehicle or property unless you choose to pay more monthly for additional coverage.
Limits for coverage in each category are as follows:
Bodily injury liability – options range from no coverage to $500,000/accident
Property damage liability – from $5,000/accident to $100,000/accident or more
Personal injury protection – from $15,000/per accident to $250,000 for certain injuries
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage – from no coverage up to $500,000/accident for bodily injury and up to $100,000/accident for property damage
Deductible options vary with CURE’s PIP plans, collision, and comprehensive coverage. Individuals typically choose a $500 or $750 deductible, however, CURE has a list of varied deductible options ranging from $100 to $2,500. Choosing higher deductibles in these categories is one way of lowering monthly costs.
You can report a claim 24/7 by calling 800-229-9151, however you may have to wait 1-2 days to hear back from your claims representative. Online reviews often mention a more lengthy and difficult claims process with CURE.
All of CURE’s policies include Premier Roadside Assistance which covers up to $125 per incident and includes the following services:
- Emergency Towing
- Battery Jump Start
- Flat Tire Change
- Fuel Delivery
- Lockout Service
Your monthly rate with CURE will likely cost less if you’ve had your license for at least three years and have a clean driving record. Additional discounts are offered after you have been a CURE customer for two years and have had no accidents. Other discounts that could help you save include a parking discount if you have off-street or secured garage parking, or if you have an alarm system on your car.
When choosing a policy you will have two payment options – a full-pay plan where you pay the total 6-month premium cost plus an online processing fee of $14.95, or an installment plan of one down payment plus four additional installments. If you choose the installment plan there is a $6 installment fee for every payment plus the online processing fee of $14.95
CURE is a not-for-profit reciprocal exchange, and the total cost of your premium includes a 10-20% required contribution to the Surplus Contribution Fund which CURE states strengthens the financial stability of their company. This may cause rates to be slightly higher than other auto insurers in the area.
CURE Auto Insurance may save you money if you have an older car and don’t need maximum coverage. However, monthly costs can quickly increase when adding additional protection so it’s important to understand your needs before getting a quote. It’s always advised to get multiple quotes from different companies so you can get the right coverage at the right price for your budget.
Annie Johnson is a licensed insurance broker, specializing in auto, home and renters insurance products. She reviews insurance content on College Educated for accuracy and has a particular passion for making sure that college students and recent graduates have proper insurance coverage. Her latest passion includes researching all forms of business insurance, to ensure that recent college grads who look to entrepreneurship can have the right protection.